Wednesday, July 10, 2013

Academy of Motion Picture invites Raoul Peck to join its Board of Directors

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced the names of 276 new members invited to join as the class of 2013 (100 more than were invited last year).
Noteworthy names on the list that you should immediately recognize include: Ava DuVernay, Chris Tucker, Kimberly Elise, Paula Patton, Prince, Raoul Peck, Reggie Rock Bythewood, Roger Ross Williams, Stanley Nelson, Steve McQueen, Tim Story, Tina Gordon Chism, and William Greaves.

There might be a few others whose names I don't recognize, especially in categories like Costume Designers, Makeup Artists, Sound, Visual Effects, and more.

But congrats to all! I'm especially surprised, but also pleased to see Raoul Peck's name on the list.

I'm even more surprised that William Greaves wasn't already a member. The man's been working in the business (primarily as a documentary filmmaker) for 50 or so years.

No comments:

Post a Comment